A Visual Guide to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Austrailia and New Zealand

The 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup is the ninth edition of the FIFA Woman’s World Cup, the quadrennial international association football championship contested by women’s national teams and organized by FIFA. Here we are going to run down a visual guide to the tournament itself and how you can get acquainted to most records and events on the ongoing tournaments.

A Visual Guide to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Austrailia and New Zealand

The tournament is jointly hosted by Australia and New Zealand, and is taking place from July 20 – August 20, 2023. It is the first FIFA Women’s World cup to have more than one host nation, and also the first World Cup to be held across multiple confederations, as Australia is in the Asian confederation, while New Zealand is in the Oceania confederation. In addition, this tournament is the first to feature the expanded format of 32 teams from the previous 24, replicating the same format used for the men’s World Cup from 1998 to 2022.

Most goals

Brazil striker, Marta leads the goal scoring charts at the Women’s World Cup with 17 goals in 20 appearances, which have come at five different tournaments. The USA’s Michelle Akers, who scored 12 goals in just 13 World Cup matches, holds the record for the most goals scored in a tournament having found the net 10 times in 1991.


Tournament Prize money

Teams will receive increased prize money at this year’s World Cup, with the winning country set to gain 3.4 Pounds. Players will receive individual payments ranging from 23 Pounds  if they are knocked out in the group stages to 208,000 Pounds  if they win.

Stars to watch

The World Cup has provided the platform for some of the icons in Women’s football to become household names. This year will see many returning stars as well as those still looking to prove themselves on the world stage.

Young players to watch

The World Cup is an opportunity for some of the best young players on the planet to make their name.

Returning for more

Three players will be taking part in their sixth World Cup after selected for this summer’s tournament, having first appeared in the competition in 2023.

The Match Ball

The design for the 2023 official match ball has taken inspiration from the natural landscapes of host countries Australia and New Zealand.

Called OCEAUNZ – to reflect the coming together of Australia and New Zealand – the ball aims to celebrate the cultures of both host countries and features designs by Aboriginal artist Chern’ee Sutton and Maori artist Fiona Collis.

The Trophy

The current trophy was first awarded at the third World Cup, in the USA in 1999. Designed by William Sawaya from Milan firm Sawaya and Moroni, it is 47 cm (19 in) tall and weighs 4.6kg (10lb)

It is made from gold-plated brass with a base made from candeias granite. As with the men’s trophy, there is a gold disk underneath which list the winners.

The Final

Stadium Australia, which will host Australia’s opening game of the tournament and three knockout games, will also be the venue for the final on August 20, 2023. The country’s national stadium, in the Sydney Olympic Park, was originally built to host the 2000 Olympic Games. It has the capacity of almost 70,000 for the Woman’s World Cup.

Share this Post: if you think this post can be helpful to somebody else, Please share it using the buttons below!